The Three Graces: “Larry Applebaum”

More than 10 years ago, my former boss at work, Michael Donaldson (an inveterate 45 collector), brought me a little something he picked up at a thrift store. It was a super rare 45 of a New York-based vocal trio named The Three Graces singing a song dedicated to their latest heartthrob, Larry Applebaum. I was startled to see the title of the recording, issued by Golden Crest in 1960, written by Cy Levitan.

DSCN3580

It has many of the characteristic pop sounds of the day: jangly guitars, sax solo, vocal harmony and several very catchy hooks. It’s taken me many years to find a clean copy, so I’m grateful to Jeff Krulik, Gary Levine and Lee Michael Demsey for tracking it down for me. I now have my new closing theme for my radio show!

5 comments on “The Three Graces: “Larry Applebaum”

  1. That is one cool track, Larry!

  2. meadomakr says:

    That’s so unbelievably ricculously serendipitous. So I just have to ask- we’re you the heartthrob?

  3. of course! (but not for this song)

  4. Joe Kaye says:

    I recalled a song with the refrain of “Larry Applebaum” as a very small child (2 or 3) living in Brooklyn in the early 1960s. I seemed to remember that my parents had a 45 of it. Curious as to the accuracy of my memory, I googled “‘Larry Applebaum”‘ song” earlier today and found this page. I played the song and it is how I remember it. Thanks, Larry.

Leave a comment