How about that?

Larry Appelbaum at home with an Ornette Coleman box set, Beauty is a Rare Thing. It was a great pleasure to visit Larry in DC last week. I first met him in 1996 as a baby archivist in the Music Division of the Library of Congress. We became fast friends, and he took me under his jazz-encyclopedic wing as I worked on the William P. Gottlieb Collection of photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz. I am forever grateful to Larry for turning me on to so much new music. Among the recordings he left on my cubicle desk one day was an early Keiji Haino cassette (Lost Aaraaff) from his travels to Japan. Mind blowing stuff. Larry was supportive of my itch to head to NYC, and he checked in on me after I took a new position at Juilliard. Larry is legendary!

#LarryAppelbaum

Leave a comment