Art Kane: Harlem 1958 with Jonathan Kane and Benny Golson

Was pleasantly surprised tonight to find this panel discussion on the Library of Congress YT channel. As you can hear, my voice was damaged from my stroke, but I think the discussion about this famous Art Kane photograph shot for Esquire (sometimes referred to as A Great Day in Harlem) is worth revisiting. It was my final gig at the Library before I retired. This was recorded Aug. 29, 2019.

2 comments on “Art Kane: Harlem 1958 with Jonathan Kane and Benny Golson

  1. Jean - says:

    That’s quite the document! Great stories, thirsty musicians and I’d like to share with a friend who will really love it. How are you doing these days? I hope you are anticipating a beautiful spring. We met very briefly between sets at an Arabic music performance at the Myer Auditorium. You had recently returned from Japan. Do you recall? Years ago now. Jean

Leave a comment